just breathe

This is what I tell myself about 20 times a day…when I remember. I had set alarms in my phone to go off periodically throughout the day with the reminder to be mindful, to be in the moment, to breathe. Unfortunately the alarms were more of a distraction or annoyance than a reminder. At least I looked at them that way. The alarm always went off at the most inopportune times. Always when I was leading a large group lesson or while the class was in chaos and I was trying desperately to help students to calm themselves.

Today on my ride home from work and from registering and dealing with financial aid issues at the University I realized I will not make it this year without taking a moment to breathe.

Just breathe.

I missed lunch today so by 6pm when I got home I was quite hungry. I made dinner and sat quietly to eat. When I was done I sat and breathed for 10 minutes. It did not feel long enough. But it was good. My goal is to do this daily. Carve out a small time for just me. No work, no school, no friends, no family. If I am going to survive this job, this year, then I need to have a moment every day that is all mine.

And now it is time to make lunch for tomorrow, take a shower, and go to bed. I have so many things I want to share on this blog about my adventures and misadventures but they will have to wait for another day.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

