the last day


A year ago I was packing up my ECSE autism classroom and heading into the unknown. Ten months ago I was trying desperately to figure out how to set up my new classroom while hearing a lot of input from others that contradicted my vision. Looking back, 147 looked great those first few days. I did a good job. I just wasn’t completely ready for what was to come.

This year has taken its toll on me both physically and emotionally. I made it through some of the hardest teaching moments I’ve ever experienced. I have been so blessed to have a supportive network of people both at work and in my personal life. I am grateful to all of you for your support, for your time taken to read this blog. 

Today was our last day with the kids. A bittersweet day. Some are moving on to new schools and others will be back with me in the fall. I’m not sure how much they understand since one child was waving to another who was on a bus and he said, “See you Monday!” Time is a hard concept and maybe we didn’t get that down 100% but we did learn a lot this year and there was a ton of growth.


To celebrate the last day kids finished up their memory books and watched Lego Movie. I ordered them pizza and we had a little party. Only one student didn’t come. It was a pretty good day.


And now I look forward. Forward to summer fun, seeing family, reading, attending trainings and relaxing. I hope you all have a great summer! I’ll be posting throughout about books I’m reading or trainings I’m at. And then, next year, well, it’s going to be an amazing year!

2 thoughts on “the last day

Leave a Reply

